Nominations for 2024 National Small Business Week Awards Open

September 12, 2023

WASHINGTON – Today, Administrator Isabella Casillas Guzman, head of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the voice for America’s 33 million small businesses in President Biden’s Cabinet, announced the call for nominations for the 2024 National Small Business Week (NSBW) Awards. The NSBW Awards recognize the outstanding achievements, triumphs, contributions, and resilience of SBA-assisted small businesses that help to drive the American economy.

“Small businesses power our nation’s economy and are the realization of the American Dream for millions of entrepreneurs,” said Administrator Guzman. “From mom-and-pop shops to innovative startups, small businesses create good jobs, provide vital services, and help define the identities of the neighborhoods and communities they serve. National Small Business Week is an opportunity to recognize and celebrate their achievements and the essential contributions they make across the country.”

To nominate a small business owner in your area or download related forms, criteria, and guidelines, visit sba.gov/nsbw. All nominations must be submitted electronically by 4 p.m. ET on December 7, 2023. The awards will be presented during the NSBW Awards ceremony in Washington, D.C., from April 28-29, 2024. 

For nearly 60 years, the SBA has celebrated National Small Business Week, highlighting the vital contributions of America’s entrepreneurs and small business owners. 

The SBA’s signature award during NSBW is the Small Business Person of the Year. A business owner from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Guam will be selected for individual State Winner awards. The state award winners will compete for the title of National Small Business Person of the Year.

In addition, nominations for the following award categories will be accepted:

  • Small Business Exporter of the Year
  • Phoenix Awards for Disaster Recovery: 
    • Phoenix Award for Small Business Disaster Recovery 
    • Phoenix Award for Small Business Disaster Recovery – Mitigation
    • Phoenix Award for Outstanding Contributions to Disaster Recovery, Public Official 
    • Phoenix Award for Outstanding Contributions to Disaster Recovery, Volunteer 
  • Federal Procurement Awards: 
    • Small Business Prime Contractor of the Year  
    • Small Business Subcontractor of the Year 
    • Dwight D. Eisenhower Awards for Excellence (for large prime contractors who use small businesses as suppliers and contractors) 
    • 8(a) Graduate of the Year
  • Awards to SBA Resource Partners: 
    • Small Business Development Center (SBDC) Excellence and Innovation Center Award 
    • Women’s Business Center of Excellence Award  
    • Veterans Business Outreach Center of the Year 
  • Small Business Investment Company of the Year

For local area contact and other related information, visit online at https://www.sba.gov/national-small-business-week/district-office-awards.